The next two

It’s 11:00 pm. And I’m going to write this very carefully, as this is not really a freewrite–more of a resolution, a supposed-to-be carefully-crafted blog entry.

First of all, I am very excited for the end of the school year, the end of what most people call the “sophomore slump.” It’s been a tough year: I have an apartment, I started working in a restaurant, I started working as a research assistant. Having all of these thrown at me once? Well, I don’t know if I could have made it better, but what’s done is done. I think I can only really look forward to the future now.

And speaking of the future. It seems bright for me. This summer, I will be working as a summer intern for a lab at the University of California Berkeley! I submitted my resume and cover letter, had a Skype interview, and voila! I know it’s not magic, but I am terribly excited and nervous at the same time. For the rest of my semester, I will be in the lab more often and be more active with what’s happening research-wise.

And in terms of after summer, I will be collaborating with another research assistant for a project that we will be presenting at an undergraduate symposium (at least that’s the plan!) in the spring. We have not yet decided on what to research about yet, so it is our goal to reach onto that part. After that, I will either be doing a thesis, or continuing the project further and have more participants. We’ll see.

But that’s my two-year plan right now. Oh, and I will be completing a minor–or possibly a double major, just because I have plenty of space in my schedule– in French. Oui, j’aime le langue! And having more rest and sleep and exercise.

So, au revoir! (That actually literally means “until we see each other again.”)

Leave a Reply

