Dare

San Jose

San Jose

I am in Berkeley, CA, and this will be a life-changing summer. It’s my first time living all alone, without knowing anyone (sort of–I have relatives and one friend within an hour away). It’s also my first time in the west coast, and I’ve heard that it’s completely different. It’s been seven days since I arrived here and it’s been amazing being here. Of course, I got the jitters and everything, but I’ve learned that it’s totally normal and that I will get used to it. I want to put out this quote, because I am an exploring existentialist:

To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily; not to dare is to lose oneself.

– Soren Kierkegaard

I’m happy  that I made this decision, that I am risking a lot of things, mostly financially, to do this, and not because I don’t want to lose myself but because I believe taking risks is what makes life life. I was watching this film called “Harold and Maude” (1971) last night. It’s been described as an existential movie, and I couldn’t agree more. It has a lot of things to say about the paradoxes of life and the achievement of death. (Yes achievement–because life must end at one point and death signifies that one has lived.) But anyway, going back to risks and change, Maude, who is almost 80, says to Harold, who is still an adolescent,

Consistency is not really a human trait.

We change a lot, is what she is saying. We are not always consistent of our past or of what we are going to be. I myself live in inconsistency. How many times I have taken decisions that are just not me, I can’t count them (I tried to, on my last night in Columbus).

On this note, I bid adieu for now.

Leave a Reply

